[ SkipToMainMenu ]

Home

Latest Highlights in the Senate Chamber

Wednesday, June 12th 2019 - Senators’ Statements — Acadian World Congress 2019

Acadian World Congress 2019 Click here to see video in the Senate Chamber Hon. Rose-May Poirier: Honourable senators, before we bid each other farewell for the summer, I would like to invite you to the sixth Congrès mondial acadien in Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick from August 10 to 24. This is the event’s twenty-fifth anniversary. First, some history. Back in 1988, some friends were chatting and came up with the idea of organizing a gathering of Acadians. André Boudreau accepted the…
Read More

Tuesday, June 4th 2019 - Fisheries Act C-68 - Third Reading Debate & Proposed Amendment

Fisheries Act Bill to Amend—Third Reading—Debate Click here to watch video in the Senate Chamber Hon. Rose-May Poirier: Honourable senators, I rise here today to speak at third reading on Bill C-68, An Act to amend the Fisheries Act and other Acts in consequence. I thank all the various witnesses who appeared before our committee to testify on this legislation as well as those who sent written submissions. The list of witnesses was wide-ranging: from fishermen associations, different Indigeno…
Read More

Tuesday, May 28th 2019 - The Late Gilbert Doucet - Senators' Statements

The Late Gilbert Doucet Click here to see video in the Senate Chamber Hon. Rose-May Poirier: Honourable senators, I rise today to pay tribute to Acadian builder Gilbert Doucet, who passed away on May 14. Born in Petit-Rocher in northern New Brunswick, Mr. Doucet worked in many different fields and wore many different hats throughout his life, a life that was marked by a strong commitment to his community. After he completed his studies at Université Saint-Joseph in Memramcook, Gilbert Doucet…
Read More
See All

Official Languages : 
"A symbolic moment missed", according to Conservatives

"Despite Minister Joly's good intentions, starting a consultation process seven months before the end of a term does not inspire confidence. The Senate committee has been consulting with communities for two years and will be tabling its report shortly. In addition, the FCFA filed a brief detailing their vision. The message seems to be understood by everyone except Minister Joly: the modernization of the Official Languages ​​Act must be done now. The time to consult is over, it's time to take action"
-Rose-May Poirier, Conservative Senator

 

Click on Twitter link to read full article (French article on Radio-Canada website, written by Antoine Trépanier)

Questions by Senator Poirier during the Official Languages Committee meeting (October 22nd 2018)

First Question by Senator Poirier:

"Can you comment on the current situation, that the Minister of Official Languages is separate from Canadian Heritage, and in your opinion, what is the best approach to ensure effective implementation of the law?"

Listen to the answer by Nadia Effendi (Chair of l'Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario)

Second Question by Senator Poirier:

"The government recently announced the Action Plan for Official Languages 2018-2023. The plan contains a component to improve access to justice, including an investment of two million dollars over two years to increase capacity and, an action plan within the action plan to improve the bilingualism of the superior court judiciary.

In your opinion, is it sufficient to meet the needs, and if not, what steps should the government take to improve the situation?"

Listen to the answer by Mr. Ronald Bisson (Director of the Réseau national de formation en justice)

Biography

Prior to entering provincial politics, Rose-May Poirier was a successful businessperson, working as an insurance representative for Assomption Vie and as an executive VIP manager for Tupperware Canada.  During her career, she received numerous distinctions as a sales leader, manager and recruiter, including leading one of the top sales teams in Canada and as one of the best salespeople in North America.

Her political career began at the municipality level where she served two terms on the Saint-Louis de Kent town council.  In 1999, Rose-May Poirier made the jump to provincial politics, representing the people of Rogersville-Kouchibouguac for three terms.  As a MLA of the Progressive - Conservative Party, Senator Rose-May Poirier was the 1st women to chair the P.C. caucus.  Upon her re-election on June 9, 2003, she was appointed Minister of the Office of Human Resources and 2 years later, in February 2006, she was named Minister of Local Government and Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs. 

Appointed to the Senate in 2010, Senator Poirier was previously the Senate Conservative Caucus Chair and the Vice Chair of the National Conservative Caucus.  She was also previously a member of the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Peoples and the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs. She currently sits on the Standing Committees for Fisheries & Oceans, Social Affairs, Science & Technology and as Deputy Chair of Official Languages.

In her community, Senator Poirier has given a lot of her time to various causes: Child Find, Children’s Wish Foundation, Heart and Stroke Foundation, George L. Dumont Tree of Hope campaign and the Friends of the Moncton Hospital as well as economic development for the Kent region.

Ms. Poirier lives in Saint-Louis de Kent with her husband, Donald.  They have two daughters and four grandchildren.

[ SkipToMainMenu ]

Accueil

Nouveaux discours dans la Chambre du Sénat

Le mercredi 13 juin 2019 - Déclarations de sénateurs — Le Congrès mondial acadien de 2019

Le Congrès mondial acadien de 2019 Cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo dans la chambre du Sénat L’honorable Rose-May Poirier : Honorables sénateurs et sénatrices, avant que nous nous quittions pour l’été, j’aimerais vous lancer une invitation. Je vous invite au 6e Congrès mondial acadien, qui célèbre ses 25 ans cette année et qui se tiendra à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et au Nouveau-Brunswick, du 10 au 24 août. Tout d’abord, je vous donne l’historique de cet événement. C’est en 1988, lors d’une conve…
Lire la suite

Mardi le 4 juin 2019 - La Loi sur les pêches - Troisième lecture - Débat et amendement proposé

La Loi sur les pêches Projet de loi modificatif—Troisième lecture—Débat Cliquez ici pour visualizer la vidéo dans la chambre du Sénat L’honorable Rose-May Poirier : Honorables sénateurs, je prends la parole aujourd’hui à l’étape de la troisième lecture du projet de loi C-68, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les pêches et d’autres lois en conséquence. Je remercie toutes les personnes qui ont témoigné devant le comité sur le projet de loi ainsi que toutes celles qui ont envoyé des mémoires. La liste de…
Lire la suite

Le jeudi 28 mai 2019 - Le décès de Gilbert Doucet - Déclarations de sénateurs

Le décès de Gilbert Doucet Cliquez ici pour visualiser la vidéo dans la chambre du Sénat L’honorable Rose-May Poirier : Honorables sénateurs et sénatrices, je prends la parole aujourd’hui afin de rendre hommage à un bâtisseur acadien, M. Gilbert Doucet, qui est décédé le 14 mai dernier. Originaire de Petit-Rocher, dans le nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, M. Doucet a travaillé dans plusieurs domaines et a porté plusieurs chapeaux tout au long de sa vie; une vie qui se distingue par un engagement sol…
Lire la suite
Voir tout

Langues officielles : 
«un moment symbolique raté», selon les conservateurs

«Les conservateurs dénoncent la décision du gouvernement Trudeau de procéder à un examen de la Loi sur les langues officielles, alors que des comités de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat se penchent sur ce dossier depuis des mois.»

-Antoine Trépanier, Radio-Canada

 

«Malgré les bonnes intentions de la ministre Joly, débuter un processus de consultation sept mois avant la fin d’un mandat n’inspire pas confiance. »
-Rose-May Poirier, sénatrice conservatrice

 

Cliquez sur le lien Twitter pour lire l'article complet

 

Questions posées par la Sénatrice Poirier lors de la réunion du comité des langues officielles (Le 22 octobre 2018)

Première question posée par la sénatrice Poirier:

"Pouvez-vous commenter la situation actuelle, c'est-à-dire que la ministre des Langues officielles est séparée de Patrimoine canadien, et selon vous, quelle serait la meilleure approche pour assurer une mise en œuvre efficace de la loi?"

Écoutez la réponse de Mme Nadia Effendi (Présidente de l'Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario)

Deuxième question posée par la sénatrice Poirier;

"Le gouvernement a récemment annoncé son Plan d'action pour les langues officielles 2018-2023. Le plan contient un volet afin d’améliorer l’accès à la justice avec, notamment, un investissement de deux millions de dollars sur deux ans pour augmenter la capacité ainsi qu’un plan d’action à l’intérieur du plan d’action afin d’améliorer le bilinguisme de la magistrature des cours supérieures.

Selon vous, est-ce suffisant afin de répondre aux besoins, et sinon, quelles mesures le gouvernement devrait-il prendre afin d’améliorer la situation?"

Écoutez la réponse de M. Ronald Bisson (Directeur du Réseau national de formation en justice)

Biographie

Avant de se lancer en politique provinciale, Rose-May Poirier était une femme d’affaires ayant eu du succès, travaillant comme représentante en assurance pour Assomption Vie et comme une gérante exécutive VIP pour Tupperware Canada.  Durant sa carrière, elle a reçu plusieurs distinctions en tant que chef des ventes, gérante et recruteuse, y compris de mener une des meilleures équipes de vente au Canada et comme une des meilleures vendeuses en Amérique du Nord.

Sa carrière politique a débuté au niveau municipal auquel elle a servi deux termes au sein du conseil de ville de Saint-Louis de Kent.  En 1999, Rose-May Poirier a fait le saut en politique provincial, représentant les gens de Rogersville-Kouchibouguac pour trois termes.  Comme députée du parti progressiste-conservateur, elle a été la première femme a siégé en tant que Présidente du caucus.  Lors de sa réélection le 9 juin 2003, elle est nommée ministre du Bureau des ressources humaines et 2 ans plus tard, elle est nommée Ministre des gouvernements locaux et Ministre responsable des Affaires autochtones.

Nommée au Sénat en 2010, sénatrice Poirier était auparavant la présidente du caucus sénatorial conservateur et vice-présidente du caucus national conservateur.  Elle a également été membre du comité des Peuples autochtones et du comité des affairs étrangères. Elle siège présentement sur les comités des pêches et des océans, des affaires sociales, sciences et technologies et des langues officielles en tant que vice-présidente.

Dans sa communauté, sénatrice Poirier s’est dévouée à plusieurs causes : Child Find, la fondation Rêves d’enfants, Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC, Campagne l’Arbre de l’espoir George-Dumont et La Fondation des amis de l’hôpital Moncton ainsi qu’au développement économique de la région de Kent.

Mme Poirier habite à Saint-Louis de Kent avec son conjoint, Donald.  Ils ont deux filles et quatre petits-enfants.